Monday, Dec. 02, 2002 - 10:46 PM

SO.

Byron came by, after our first official "joint" call. Gave me $20, which he REALLY shouldn't have done, for today's call, and for one for Friday which HE arranged, so he really shouldn't have given me that much- he explained it later by saying I was working on stuff without getting anything for it, was putting energy into it, so I deserved it. If it was after X-mas, I would have argued more and bought him domain space, like C suggested, but it isn't, so I didn't. I am remembering, however.

Parents met him. Daddy loved him- before Byron showed up, Daddy was all grumpy and feeling sick, but after he was chuckling away evilly and quite enjoying himself. Byron stayed for half an hour or so, to chat, and Daddy fully enjoyed his eccentricities, it was obvious. When he left, Daddy shut the door, turned around and said "He's great! Just like out of Pratchett! What a character!" Mum was not so enthusiastic, but thankfully she managed to cut Byron off at any sketchy junctures, such as "Let me tell you how irreverent this guy is--" "WE DON'T WANT TO KNOW!" (In best English accent.) When I asked about the delivery, he started "She was a fox, eh? And she gave me tea and a tip. But I didn't get anything else cuz she was gonna give it to the guy upstairs, he was makin' her dinner and all, oh well..." I shuddered every 3 minutes, let me tell you, but Daddy was thoroughly enjoying it. And he was surprised at how educated Byron was- "He uses words I'd never use! "Lupine"? I'd never use that word! Amazing!" Every time he mentioned something sketchy, I was standing behind Mum muttering "Salt of the earth, salt of the earth!"

I was pretty amused when Daddy said, quite casually, "We'd kind of appreciate you not involving her in anything too illegal." Knowing Daddy as I do, he was fully serious, and I'm pretty sure Byron saw that, but it was all passed off lightly.

Anyway, I think it was more than I could have hope for, all 'round, and I'm going to count my blessings and go to bed soon, before anything bad happens. ;)

Who'da thunkit, eh?


12:12am

Was thinking, in the shower, 'bout how lucky I am. With Rick. I mean, honestly... who else would put up with my demands, my eccentricities, my moodiness and abuses? He even goes out of his way to do things for me no one else had done- walking me to the bus stop and meeting me there, every single time; making me breakfast, getting me glasses of water late at night, tucking me in every night; even going to check with places I've applied to for jobs, nagging them... who else would let me get away with the kind of crap I couldn't even get away with as a cute 5 year-old? We did the Jung Personality Compatibility Thingy, which says that if you get a combined calculated score (however they work it out, I'm not sure) of 62 or less, your prognosis for a long-term relationship is BAD. If it's above 62, it's probably going to be ok. ;) We got above 62, quel surprise. Don't know how much above though, cuz you have to pay $3 to find out. If I'da had a credit card, I woulda... ;) But hey. Whatever the score, I know we'll be fine.


Readin' Erewhon (Butler)
Listenin' to karaoke version of Jewel's "You Were Meant For Me," not my fault
Thinkin' about milk

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?