Monday, Oct. 27, 2003 - 1:11 PM

Excerpt frlom an email I just sent my mom:

Hey! I'm up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed! (some stupid delivery-dwarf knocked on the door, wanting to drop off a tv to next-door and finding them mysteriously absent. I didn't take it. [I had been dreaming about flirting with Phatty-Matty.]) I was suprisingly un-tired yesterday, but I feel like I'm hungover today.

Last night, dinner was a right battle- usually the company sends out for pizza and stuff, but around dinner time, the inventory supervisor (Denesh) came around with a sign-up sheet. What for? Swiss Chalet. Oh, the company's paying for Swiss Chalet? Hell no. Company's not paying. Well, you should have heard the Jamaican expletives coming from Stacey- "Tha's a loada SHEET, mon, this FOOKIN' coompany has da NERVE to get us here until 4am and not FOOKIN' pay for dinner?!" I added a couple of my own, for good measure, because I was pretty angry (they're coming off really cheap these days, at the a.m. meeting on Saturday, usually we get huge boxes of donuts and muffins and juice and coffee and tea, but this Saturday, only 4 boxes of timbits, one of which Rachelle the camera sup. ate by herself because she's disgusting and on a diet.) Apparently Denesh got similar railings from everyone else, and when the guy who was doing the food-run saw the sign-up sheet with 30 different orders on it, he said he'd be there hours and there was no way, so Denesh tore up the sheet and announced the company was ordering pizza. Why they couldn't have done this hours in advance, I don't know. Anyway, so pizza was ordered, around 8pm. It arrived at 11pm. Tony got on the phone to the store, got a 20% discount from the delivery guy, a 50% discount from his supervisor, and managed to get it for free from the manager because it took 3 hours. So the company ended up not paying for anything, but getting 8 pizzas for free anyway. At that point, all we cared about was food, anyway. "

So that's basically my last 24 hours, in a nutshell. Last night was Full Count, so I was at work 4pm to 2:30am. Surprisingly, it wasn't that bad, nothing nerve-wracking. I think we find out next week how much we're missing.


3:39pm

I want THESE:

Sun Conures. Aren't they adorable? R came with me yesterday to visit my PetSmart conure Kermit, and agreed that he was very cute when he came scurrying over to chew my ring and get tickled. MAN I want a tame, sane bird! Kitties are cute and self-sufficient and all, but it's just not the same.


7:58pm

We were having a chat at 2am yesterday at work about what kind of killers each of us was. Les decided that Jeff was a clocktower killer, and everyone agreed very quickly that I was the cyanide type. "A long, slow death you could watch." I was sort of flattered.


Readin' Reaper Man
Listenin' to something on 99.9
Thinkin' about food cooking

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?