Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2004 - 1:57 PM

OK:

WHY am I the only person in this city who knows about the law that says you HAVE to shovel your sidewalk within 24 hours of a snowfall?! BECAUSE, people, if I or my parents fall on YOUR dirty, snow-covered, slushy sidewalk, I will be knocking at your door with a lawyer and you will be my BITCH for the rest of your horrible and newly miserable LIVES.

That said, there is one thing I like about Canadian snow, waist-deep as it is. And that's the fact that, when you and five other people are struggling to get off the bus into a 4' snow-drift, a certain comeraderie is engendered that allows for jokes and conversation you wouldn't otherwise dream of having with strangers. Just last night, I had a very nice discussion about Belize with some guy in the bank, who later wished me a good night. I thought that was very cool, and sort of typical of the pioneering Canadian spirit (which is, nevertheless, still allowed to bitch about the weather when really needed.)

Non sequiturs aside, the third thing on my mind today is... well, I was in 2nd Cup this morning, burning time until hypnosis, having a coffee. There was this woman, small, well-dressed (reasonably, I mean, tweed isn't for everyone), hair dyed black, witha newspaper spread out in front of her, her coffee on the table. Had she not been very involved in talking to someone who absolutely wasn't next to her, she might have seemed your typical middle-aged business woman. But there she was, gesturing to thin air, chatting away very involvedly. I tried to look surreptitiously for a cellphone headset, but nope, no cell. I sat behind her, sort of wondering about it. Was she insane? She didn't really suit my idea of insane- aren't insane people not supposed to be able to dress and coherently order coffee and a bagel? And why did I think about insanity as black and white? Could she in fact realize that she looked insane, maybe suffered from Turrets or soemthing, not be able to control her speech? Despite sitting 3 feet away, I couldn't catch what she was saying (not that I was really trying to- there's a certain embarassment about being around someone who can't control themselves, sadly.) I wondered if maybe she was looking out from behind a mouth on automatic, watching herself seem strange and crazy to everyone else, and I felt really bad that it seemed impossible that she could connect with anyone around her. That people would be afraid of her because she was sick.

And then I got REALLY spooked out when I opened up the Metro and read my horoscope:

Use discretion when judging pushy person who wants a date. Buy items for practical comfort. Dementia will cause distress.

How "Twilight Zone" is that?


6:07pm

For some reason, Mum hasn't shut up for the last half hour. I don't know what the hell's wrong with her. Now she's just not making any sense. Trying to explain Ebay to her. Brain's hurting.


Readin' Kraken Wakes
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about putting some pants on.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?