Saturday, Mar. 20, 2004 - 10:24 PM

I admit to a quiet little thrill when Laurent gave me a, shall-we-say, intellect-based compliment (not to squash any toes...) Whether it's the change from the years of being at odds, or the fact that getting a positive comment like that from someone who is, de facto, more intelligent than you are, I don't know. Tho I used to feel the same kind of thrill when keeping up with Aaron while doing crosswords, or John's friend Matt while talking theology. That nearly-erotic thrill of My Brain Is Stretching. (Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying L. said anything inappropriate or remotely wrong, but I do enjoy the Brain side of life.)

My dicky little MP3 player is pretty damn cool. I found that 128MB is just perfect, because in fact I don't have 30 songs I'd be willing to hear more than once a day. Now Mum wants one, but with an AM and FM tuner, and I can't find an AM tuner for love or money.

Uncle Dave's birthday tomorrow, so we're all going to have a surprise party for him at some restaurant in Mississauga. Not terribly looking forward to this, because it's the first time I'll be seeing god-family since Xmas and our not-very-well-handled-(thank-you-godsis-Susan) engagement announcement. Or lack thereof. And the ensuing freaking out by EVERYONE. So more fuss might be made tomorrow, and that's not cool since it's Uncle Dave's birthday and Auntie Frances' effort. At the time, at Xmas, we'd only been engaged for a few days, and I wasn't handling it that well myself (despite the months of prior "nudging," "hinting" and "pressuring.") Now, at least, I'm used to having two rings on my finger. Still... for once, I hope it isn't all about me tomorrow.


Readin' "Equal Rites" (Pratchett / "Hominids" (Sawyer)
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about how a bookshelf in the bathroom would be a f***ing GREAT idea.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?