Saturday, Apr. 17, 2004 - 11:33 PM

The coming storm abated for tonight, possibly tomorrow the lightning will come down. but not tonight. (Mum went to bed early.)

Daddy and I talked for a couple of hours. It was good, once again reminded me how similar we are in more-than-intellectual ways. Covered a range of things, not just family-related.

At one point he was talking about being a "team player" and being part of the family, and I said (shaping words around years-old ideas, muted), "You try feeling like a part of the family when you're constantly being told to get your stuff out of sight." This is directly a fault of Semiotics- possibly, had I not read De Certeau, these feelings wouldn't have come to a head, but there you are: you own a space by consuming it, and if I'm not allowed to leave some of my things in plain sight, then I'm not allowed to consume that space, ipso I don't have a legitimate right to be there. SOOOOOO I'm not a part of the family when I'm not allowed to consume the space in the house. Daddy was intrigued by this idea, and said several times "I never realized..." and so on. And obviously he'd never notice, because he IS allowed to consume space, he IS allowed to be messy, by implication (and once by words) because he's "earned the right." Which makes him a legitimate member of the household, when I'm just a damn guest. Since age 4, a damn guest. And I told him so. It's sort of like racism- white people go "Toronto isn't racist" and black people go "Racism is a major issue." It all depends on your perspective.

Anyway, I don't feel so alone anymore- I know at least he's understanding my POV and at least somewhat on my side. I'm really lucky, with my father.


Readin' nothing
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about going to go play Space Colony

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?