Monday, May. 24, 2004 - 12:02 AM

What an interesting weekend.

R called me up Friday at work and said we couldn't go to the zoo anymore because his boss Wally had told him he had to close the store. I was VERY upset because once more we were bunking out on the zoo, and for the second Saturday in a row, Wally had fucked up my day (last time was the reunion.) R called me back a couple of hours later and said that he'd forgotten that "come hell or high water, we're going to the zoo" and that he was quitting instead. Heh. It wasn't just for the zoo (which is good because we didn't end up going Saturday, because of the rain), it was for all the shite like working 65hrs/week for $21K/yr. So anyway, he told his staff, but not his boss, that he'd be quitting, went to the bank and traded a $5 bill for 500 pennies and left them in the till (cuz he's an asshole ;), faxed a memo at closing time to head office that he was quitting because of violated rights, etc., and called Wally and told him he wasn't coming in again. Ever. Meanwhile, at BB, I asked Tony (our General Manager, who's the msot awesome person I've ever worked for) if we had any jobs going in Supervisor or Senior level (which would roughly work out to Manager level at Radioshack), and Tony's like "Yes, why?" so I explained about R (Tony's been keeping current on R and Radioshack all along, because he's been trying to recruit him to BB), and Tony's like "Bring him in, will he be ok with a Loss Prevention Senior job until we can find him something better?" and I'm like "CH-YEAH! THANK YOU!" So R went in for an interview this morning and apparently it was all "very positive." :)

Then, today, a customer asked me out. He was very nice about it, a little insistent even after I said I was engaged, but I was very flattered and he thought that was cute. He was the spitting image of Uncle Alan. I know I handled it very well, especially compared to last time, but now I'm feeling just as disgruntled. The only reason I could think of is that, under "normal circumstances" (i.e. normal for my age), that would not have been an issue. Now I'll spend the next 10 years telling people that, no, thank you, but I'm engaged/married, and anyway I'm 30, not 18, thanks a lot tho.... I just forsee a long, awkward period ahead that I'm not entirely emotionally equipped to deal with at the moment.


Readin' Moving Pictures
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about going to bed

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?