Friday, Apr. 29, 2005 - 10:22 AM

My parents are great. While my mum's scrambling frantically around upstairs screaming about the New York guidebook, I go downstairs to get a coffee, having hit my alarm for 45 mins this morning. My Dad's standing, all dressed up and sheepish, in the kitchen, drinking his coffee. I asked why he had a tie on to fly to NY. "Um, you may see us back a lot sooner. My passport expired last week." But he's going to do his best "Jolly good old boy, it's a rum day, eh what? Footie, toad-in-the-'ole, Manchestah United, do you 'ave a fag, by Jingo!" English colonial at them, so maybe the border guards will be so convinced by his obvious Britishness and total lack of any Arabicity (since these are AMERICAN border guards), they'll let him through. That's the plan, anyway.


10:50am

I was wrong yesterday. It was heart-spleen deficiency syndrome. Does that ring any bells with anyone, cuz I don't even know here my spleen is.


11:32am

Well, they got across the border, Daddy just called me. He said "A great big Yank held up my passport and said 'Are you aware, sir, that your passport has expired?' and I answered back quite cheerfully 'Yes, I just found out an hour ago.' and he just stamped it and waved me through!" (Personally, I think the guard was thinking "These bloody arrogant British-Canadians", but nevermind.) Now, it's not that I'm complaining, because if they didn't get through a) I wouldn't get a New York postcard, and b) they'd be back here and pretty crabby, but what the hell's the point of having a passport if they don't care when it's invalid?

Can you tell I'm bitter at not going on vacation?


12:39pm

My daily trips to the IKEA website have to stop. I have 3 months before we move, and NO money (having paid off my credit card.)

Katie and I are planning a huge August Long Weekend party. Have I mentioned this before? I forget. Anyway. We want to have an apartment-crawl: start off at her place around 11am for cocktails and breakfasty-stuff, fruit and whatnot, move on to Cleon's (who apparently lives on the other side of Redpath from us, which is awesome, because he and Rick are the biggest geeks when they're together, in a cute way) for afternoon casse-croutes and finger-foods and whatever the hell an afternoon alcohol is, possibly sherry. And then everyone end up at our place for a big BBQ and beer and Xbox/PS2 gaming and movies and popcorn. You join the tour when you want, and leave when you want. And people can bring stuff, or give us money, who the hell cares. We just have to tell Cle now, because he doesn't know he's part of the Biggest ALW Party EVER. Or, you know, like, whatev.

Parents are giving us the big grey velvet couch I grew up with, which is awesome (because we have to get 5.2 billion slipcovers to protect against kitties and cover up when they scratch furniture anyway), and have offered the 2 reddish-brownish armchairs, which I'm not so sure about, and the older BBQ, which is great but I may buy a new one anyway.

As you can tell, I haven't actually added up how much moving is going to cost us. I HAVE added up how much we should have saved by then tho - just under $3000. At the very least, we need a new bed and A chair. At least the office is already complete.


1:04pm

Ok, added everything up on our "to buy" list. Over $5000. Then I added up all the essentials (cat + stuff, cutlery, plates, kettle) and it came to $850. So at least we won't have nothing but a perfectly complete office and a couch.

We'll have forks, too.


1:07am

You know what I seriously just realized I missed? Snowflake, on his OLD website, used to have a hand-drawn cartoon that was FUCKING HILARIOUS. Going on The Cure website just reminded me. Milque. Yeah. Sometimes involving Flavia, I think. I miss that obscene kind of laughing.


Readin' Nuttin. Spent some time on "Politically Correct Fairy Tales" last night, which bugged the hell outta me.
Listenin' to blissful silence
Thinkin' about laundry

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?