Sunday, Jan. 13, 2002 - 2:22 PM

Absolutely exhausted. Flat out. Was going hell-for-leather all yesterday- up at 7:20AM, stumbling around trying to find coffee, pack everything I needed for Twelfth Night, dashed to bank, dash off to TFS. Already SCA people there, Richard and Megan and Daddy and I start unloading the tables from the van (I finally figured out who Richard reminds me of- Kevin Smith. A much skinnier Kevin Smith). Set up tables, stick "OCAD tables" tags on them, run around school putting up signs and directions and schedules (not that we stuck to it), clear rooms of tables and chairs, get changed, run downstairs to set up the bar. PHEW! Fursto took over the bar for a while, so Jessi and I walked around, looking at vendors (nice jewelry) and eating (Utsi and Yog [probably "Yeog" actually] set up their lunch counter, and they had the croissants with hot fudge on top AND inside. a LOT!) Eoforwic's new sheriff (I think he's the mayor's husband) is funny, a LOT like John Odo, in looks and everything, but sounds rather like Jordan. There were material merchants, and jewelry, and celtic soaps, and chainmail, and the Peasants' Army was selling assassinations for $1 (the King got assassinated about 10 times.) Tended bar for most of the day, but took breaks to wander around with Rick, look at the fighting (ye gods James has gained weight. So have I, but he really has) and other stuff. It was high-paced and busy, but less energy and excitement (to me anyway) than last year, maybe because there were more people so it was less organized, or because there wasn't any heavy weapons fighting, which added a lot, to my mind. The bar, which began with the same amount of alcohol as we used all of last year, was running low around 3pm, and Geoffrey had to restock a couple of times. Turns out Anastasia got the permit for 296, not Giles Hall, but oh well. We were running out just before 8pm, last call was 8:30pm, and we'd packed up around 9ish. Everyone was exhausted. I managed to smack myself with a 12"x6"x3" chunk of ice whiile I was breaking it up for the bar, right in the forehead- got a bump and a headache now. All in all, seemed to go well, but I'm dead tired now. Think I'm going to lie on the couch in from of the TV while parents are at curling and watch "Shrek", or maybe go back to bed. I ache and stuff. But Kimberley said I could keep the wench-dress I was using, and the shirt :) I'm going to give her all the black lace I have, and my blue SCA dress in exchange. Saw Mrs. Uys, who'd come in to work- "MRS. UYS!!" [hug] "And how are you, Kerry?" "DID YOU SEE MY NECKLACE?!?!?!?!" :) She liked it. I brought her a piece of chocolate cheesecake (REALLY good!) I'm not being very coherent right now, sorry.

Maybe more later when I'm onto my 3rd coffee.


Readin'
Listenin' to
Thinkin' about

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?