Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002 - 4:49 PM

Recommended Link Of The Day: Incredimail.

Mum's annoying. Can't wait to see R tomorrow.


:) Feel better. Cleaned up my room, had shower, made plans w/ R for a Mystery Trip tomorrow (where we went, before we went to Stein's on Friday, to get the thing I said R would like.) Speaking of Friday- wow, Warren, what a hottie! Alex looked much better with the beard, too, but Jen was a twat. Kept wanting to smack her. Apparently Frank (the big Jamaican guy who managed when I was in frosh) got married Saturday, in Jamaica :) S'cool.

Thinking seriously about cheesecake. Gonna go to Maribelle's tomorrow, give her the cash, pick up her "high-altitude lavender essential oil" stuff (anti-inflammatory), maybe pick up a nice, longer ring, get me something nice at Epicure (maybe gingerbread? :), and have a nice productive day at work. Was seriously ticked off yesterday because we worked since 10am cleaning up the OCBIA, Carlton from Parliament to Sherbourne, Parliament from Carlton to Wellesley. By the time we got to Wellesley, it was around 6pm and we were DEAD tired. The other two guys, David (aka "Pokey", from Khadar) reminded me SO MUCH of Bert- the whole bad-ass little Philipino guy thing. He was a laugh. Some woman passed us while we were cleaning up the garbage in front of the BIA, and smiled and said "You guys ROCK!" and Pokey followed her going "So do you... oh yes, you do..." It was hilarious cuz she was about a foot taller than him. At one point, we ran out of garbage bags, up at Wellesley, and had one small pile of trash, so Khadar sent Pokey into the convenience store to get a regular bag. We were talking and didn't notice Pokey until he had come back to where we were, when he went "Dude, it isn't a damn big bag." He had one of the little tiny ones you get from dollar stores. The other guy, Khadar (pronounced "Cother", rhymes with "mother") was originally Somalian, and he was awesome! He was SO intelligent. And really chivalrous, too, strangely- didn't let me do a lot of the heavy grunt-work, like carrying bags, and running back and forth to the dump, and bending over much (I explained about the rings.) He was awesome and I'm going to spend the duration of my morning coffee and chocolate chip coffee (I love Javaville, it's like Grabba's all over again- incidentally, I ran into Jess at Baroli, she's working there now, don't know if I mentioned that) writing reference letters for both of them. They made the time fly by so fast.
Anyway, what I was pissed off about was that we were already drained at 6pm, having worked 8 hours with a 1-hour break in the middle, and that was when we were all the way up at Wellesley. The guys were all for finishing the street, so we worked our way down, absolutely exhausted. They dumped the last lot while I went to the office, disarmed the alarm (Joice had obviously been in and alarmed it), and cleaned up the office. Joice came in saying "No no no, you guys missed the most important part, the heart of Cabbagetown is south of Carlton, go do it, chop chop!" I was furious. She should have told us to do that first, if it was important. And she delivered it badly. I was furious on my behalf, but even more so on theirs- they were exhausted too, they were both younger than me, I was their boss, and they had just worked 8 hours. We went to finish off, them tired but resigned, me fuming. I know I have a habit, when I'm angry, of my face just clouding over, turning grey. I smile a lot normally, I laugh a lot, and those guys kept me laughing all day. I could tell that Joice knew she pushed me over the edge, which she later confirmed by telling my mother as much. Actually, she TOLD me to it, then when the guys came in she told them we had to do it, then she saw me cloud and went "will you guys really hate me if you do this?" and I was so angry I said "Well if we don't have a choice, it doesn't matter does it?" and walked out to get started. The guys handled it better. I'm expecting things to be either a little tense tomorrow morning, or a little over-jollied; I noticed she didn't ask me whether, once I'd recovered, I'd do it again for the BIA, like she asked the other guys- probably knew what kind of answer she'd get. I mean, we scored some MAJOR brownie-points with the merchants and the public for the BIA, we had people cheering us on, we cleaned up needles and rotted chicken and condoms, and I was stiff for most of today, and she ordered us to keep working beyond endurance. 9.5 hours. I better well be getting my damn cheque tomorrow.

On a lighter note, R has offered to get "Amelie" on DVD, which comes out next week- extremely happy :)


Readin' "Lords and Ladies" (Pratchett)
Listenin' to "I'm Not A Fucking Drag Queen" -- Peter Outerbridge
Thinkin' about piercings =/ aching.

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?