Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002 - 9:20 PM

Byron took me out for linner (lunch/dinner) to the Korean equivalent of a greasy spoon. I had barley tea, begging off on actual food, but he insisted on going to the Walnut Cake Factory, which was FUCKING AWESOME! They had this conveyor-belt machine thingy. A guy sat at one end, dropping chopped almonds into the little egg-cup molds. The set-of-3 molds moved slowly to the next machine, which squirted batter into them. On to the next machine, 3 hoses which squirt almond paste into the batter. The next machine squirts more batter into the top molds, and squishes the top and bottom half together. For the rest of the circuit, the almond cakes cook. the conveyor-belt comes back full circle (or oval) to where the guy's sitting at one end. A wire arm comes up and flips the cakes out of the open mold, where they fall into a basket. Brilliant! And these things are SO FUCKING GOOD! Even my MOM was interested when I told her! ARGHGHGHGH!

Then we walked down Palmerston to Harbord, along Harbord to one street west of Spadina, and stopped in at a Jewish bakery. I refused more dessert, so The Garbage Pirate got a cherry danish and we took off. Up that side-street (the one behind Michelle's? Walmer, maybe?) to Bloor, then back along Bloor to Palmerston, where he ran into an old co-worker who gave me a "So you're the new peice of ass, eh?" look, which wasn't helped by Byron saying "This is my secretary, Kerry." (I like old men on boats, y'all.) Hopefully my leather binder thing lent some validity to it.

Anyway, so surprisingly it was a lot of fun ;) And I was amazed that Byron could speak Korean to the waitress/owner... I have a feeling there'll be many more surprises....


12:00am

It isn't easy to be kind
With all these demons in my mind
I only hope one day
I'll be free...


I am not a pretty girl
That is not what I do
I am not damsel in distress
And I don't need to be rescued
So put me down, punk
Wouldn't you prefer a maiden fair?
Isn't there a kitten
Stuck up a tree
Somewhere?

I am not an angry girl
But it seems like I've got everyone fooled
Every time I say something they find hard to hear
They chalk it up to my anger and never to their own fear
Imagine you're a girl just trying to finally come clean
Knowing full well they prefer you were dirty
And smiling...

And I am sorry
But I am not a maiden fair
I am not a kitten
Stuck up a tree somewhere...


Readin' Harry Potter 4
Listenin' to "Let It Rain" (Amanda Marshall)
Thinkin' about Walnut cakes and HP?

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?