Tuesday, Mar. 11, 2003 - 8:47 AM

Starting to build a conspiracy theory around myself and the media. Here's the premise so far:

  1. Everything I watch is interconnected to everything else.

  2. This is so the direction of my viewing is controlled by The Man.

  3. It couldn't happen to anyone else, partly because of the programming and partly because of quantum.

  4. It's all about intertextuality, baby.

Example: I'm doing a film review for class next week on Naked, a fucked-up-as-hell movie. I'm doing it because it has David Thewlis in, who, up until the time I saw this movie, was on my Old Men I Want To Shag list (and who's a damn good actor, if extremely messed.) I was introduced to David Thewlis in class last year through the film "Besieged."
I watched "Naked" during reading week and immediately recognized 2 women in it: a small, young, quiet woman who doesn't appear to have a name (I think), who's one of the few who doesn't get raped by him: Bella from "Notting Hill" (the wheelchair-bound one); and Sandra, the woman who owns the apartment where it all takes place, whom I identified quickly as Lucinda in "Chef!", and later found out was also Magda (the one with the fuckwit boyfriend) in "Bridget Jones."
"Lucinda" and "Bella" are connected through Lorlelei King, who was Savana on "Chef!" and also played Julia Roberts' personal assistant/manager/whatever in "Notting Hill." And "Bridget Jones" is connected to "Notting Hill" through Hugh Grant. And "Chef!" is connected to Bridget Jones through "Magda." So I have these three movies/program totally, inextricably LINKED, and ONLY someone who was a chickflick fan, a Britcom fan AND who happened to watch fucked up movies for film class, could pick up the intertextual meanings here!! SEE!!! THAT'S ME!!! IT COULDN'T BE ANYONE ELSE!!

Well, I'm done my "feel special" trip. I finished my paper at 2:45am, at no point actually rushing and several times stopping to redesign my background for this (decided against it) or play games. But I'm REALLY going home for a nap after class. And then I have an essay due tomorrow for Music. Blah.


1:31pm

On correction, I'm wrong- Magda IS the Annoying Married Couples Hostess. But I'm leaving what I said in there, because today is a good day for the word "fuckwit."

Home, debating going to sleep NOW so I'm fresh for my essay (or, alternatively, don't start it until 9pm), playing a bit and then napping, or... working straight away? (Ew. Nix that.) Spilled Chinese food all over the foodcourt floor for the second time in 2 weeks, spent lunch discussing the likelyhood of being banned, with R. We're going IKEA shopping on Friday! (Theoretically; we've never made it yet.) Also gotten into the habit of slamming a finger in drawers or cupboards. Think it's a death wish at work. I am not looking forward to the next few weeks.


8:33pm

YAYYYYYYYY!!!!!!! DOUGGGGYYYY!!!!!!!!


Readin' theoretically, Eco on "Overinterpretation"
Listenin' to 'I'm Afraid of Britney Spears" inside my head
Thinkin' about SLEEEEEP!!!

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?