Monday, Jul. 21, 2003 - 9:53 PM

;) I've got a new pet.

I caught myself a budgie.

(Really.)

Mum and I were helping Auntie Francis (my godmother) move to their new house today, in Mississauga. We came up to the new house with our minivan loaded down, and got out. Godsister Susan came up to us and said "There's a budgie in our tree! I just looked up and he was in my face!" So I went up to the front of the new house, which is covered in ivy and vines, and sure enough, there was a little blue budgie sitting and snoozing in the bush around the garage. I tried to get Suze to help me catch him, but she didn't really know how (despite having owned 2 budgies; Uncle Dave left one out in the garage overnight once by accident and it froze, and the other was killed by a friend's cat), and David was going to help me but got distracted by a neighbour ("Hey man!! Where's the beer?"), so I reached up (the budgie was about 6 1/2 feet up, out of my reach), pulled the branch he was standing on down gently, caught his tail and grabbed him. Stuck him in the bathroom while I checked with a few houses on either side, but no one had heard of an escaped budgie. When Auntie Francis asked if we were going to keep him, Mum heaved a sigh and said "Yes, I guess so." Daddy's overjoyed :) We stuck him in Tweetie's old cage (I don't mind too much) and Mum went out and bought some more bird food and treats, and then Daddy went out and bought him a tangerine, a peach, a plum, an apple, some bread, some cheese.... We're calling him Skye, cuz Daddy said he looked like the sky with clouds in, all blue and white. He's remarkably tame, but obviously a cage-bound bird, and Mum doesn't want him out of the cage. I'm taking him to the vet Friday, on my next day off, and going to see about getting his wings clipped. If we're going to keep him cage-bound anyway, we might as well. He's very passive, but was tweeting a bit and ringing Twee's old bell before we put him to bed. :) I'm looking forward to having a pet again, but the reality hasn't really sunk in yet- I keep feeling like someone will claim him, or he'll die or something. At least I'm trying tho. :)


Readin' nothing
Listenin' to nothing
Thinkin' about bed! 6am shift tomorrow morning

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?