Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 - 10:05 PM

Have been feeling, for the last few days, that I desperately need my old music. Like, from back when music was the most important thing in the world- that time. Somewhere level 3 to frosh. Weezer, Sloan, VS, Garbage, and Pumpkins. Was very upset that I've apparently lost "Siamese Dream", and my tape of "Mellon Collie" is smashed up. Have semi-rectified that by acquiring a few of my favourite songs: "Disarm", the song that first got me into the Pumpkins; "Today," "Perfect," "Tonight, Tonight," "Zero" and "Bullet With Butterfly Wings." (Yes, I'm a mainstream singles whore. Blow me.) I miss everything about the Pumpkins, or rather, the mindset I had when I listened to them (before Adore, pretty much :) Angsty, emotional, sitting in my park, late at night, belting out a passable Billy Corgan. I guess that's really what I want to recall. Now if only Grabba's was open.... stupid Catholic Youth Centre....

One more day before my day off. Kitty has sweetly-kindly offered to take me to the Stones concert if I grovel, but a) Mick Jagger's wrinkly, b) he probably already has a restraining order against our family for the times Mum's nearly run over members of the Stones when they going cycling through Rosedale when they're over here, c) I NEED a day to sleep, and d) I won't be able to see anything anyway, over 400K people's heads. BUT, I am SOOOOO looking forward to Edgefest. Sloan, OLP, Finger 11 (fuck the Hip)... everything I want right now. If only Edwin and old IME would get back together....

"Zero" really is one of my favourite songs. And "BWBW", we had a whole semiotics lecture where Michael Dean was trying to explain how it was a prayer, and intensely spiritual.

Day 7 of BirdWatch: One week has past, and Booky is now tame enough to tep onto a hand or finger (inside his cage), assuming you're holding millet seed. He's having a lot of fun now, and it looks like I'll be able to get him clipped on my next day off after Wednesday- then the real taming can begin. I'll be taking him out with me to socialize him, not that he's scared of people anymore (the hyperventilating has stopped), but it would be good if he were actually friendly.

Anyway, enough of that. I have to be up by 5:30am

(Hm; on the F11 website, it says they'll be in Kansas for September 6, which is Edgefest. I wonder if they know they've been signed up?)


Readin' "Neverwhere"
Listenin' to Switchblade Symphony, "Wallflower"
Thinkin' about back when James Black was sexy

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?