Monday, Sept. 27, 2004 - 12:28 PM

Week-old email from my dad I finally got around to reading:

Good on the binders. You will collect a great deal of bumf (wartime British military term derived I believe from "Papers, wiping of bum for" which was a takeoff of military jargon and referred to useless paperwork). Google that too. And snafu is an American wartime acronym (or maybe British?) for "situation normal: all fucked up". You'll need that one in HR - but will never be able to say it because you must be respectable!

My dad will always be too cool :)

I've cut down one extra day, so am now only working a day and a half a week. Very good, I need the time. I'm tired of being the primum mobile for every problem people have. I want to just take a back seat and be steered, like everyone else. I want to stop being responsible. Georgia from school and I had a talk on the bus about how we both grew up fast last year, while working, and about how many people commented to each of us respectively that we were "old" and "the mother figure" and "the mature one" and stuff. I get on with Georgia, she's like I would be if I were a film student with a lot more taste and hair and fashion sense and if I were more intense and involved and flakier (a bit), minus about 35lbs.

Service Pack 2 annoys the shit out of me.

Bird went hopping around screeching this morning, chewing every branch he could get a hold of. He finished off by hopping onto his draw-bridge and trying to pull the clapper out of his bell. It looked like his face was stuck in the bell and he was trying to pull it out, and I couldn't stop laughing. Hoping for a repeat performance.

Back to my ever-present homework. April is going to be a relief. Think maybe R and I should take a really good vacation for our 4th anniversary.


Readin' "Compensation Strategy in Canada"
Listenin' to Bird and Michael Buble
Thinkin' about tea

Back - Forth


This is a Diaryland project. Background image by Digital Hooligan (mah man!) If you try to steal bits of it, I'll come to your house and eat your goldfish. So don't.


Most recently I was
Curiosity killed the cat, you know

Current

Older

Photo

Email

Diaryland

Past Entries:

* The Last


* Looks like Adam's OUTTA HERE!

* I ain't voting for the city transit-fouling wussy.

* Why do I feel like an angsty teen again? (Maybe it's my fault; I should take it with a grain of salt...)

* Where are we now?